Made my First Chocolate

I made myself a super healthy vegetable soup tonight with olive oil, celery, carrots, garlic, ginger, onions, mushroom, and tofu, sprinkled with lots of pepper (white or black) and a bit of sea salt, and some watermelon radish on top, all in 20 minutes (courtesy of 101cookbook’s fantastic recipe).  To round off my meal tonight, I made my first chocolate!  I have been fascinated by the author of theearthdiet.org, Liana Werner-Gray, who gives a challenge to herself to eat everything that is directly produced from the earth – i.e. nothing processed – for one year, and she continues with this healthy diet.  She showed how we can make chocolate from raw.  So being a dark chocolate liker, I immediate jump to make some chocolate balls myself.  I can’t believe how easy it was – all in 10 minutes.  I had 4 tonight!

Ingredients:

Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (8 tablespoonfuls) – I got the colombian dark chocolate powder from Trader Joe’s

Almond Meal (equal amount as the Cocoa Powder) – also from Trader Joe’s

Sprinkles of honey or agave nectar

Sprinkles of water

(Add a little bit of coconut oil if you like)

Flaxseed meal or coconut flakes

To 8-9 balls of chocolate:

1.  Mix the cocoa powder and the almond meal in a bowl.

2.  Sprinkle some honey and a bit of water (and coconut oil if you like)

3.  Mix with a spoon

4.  Then roll with your hands into balls.

5.  Roll the balls into flaxseed meal or coconut flakes to add extra nutrition and taste.

Freeze or refrigerate for 15 minutes (my own version). This can be stored in the fridge for a week.

Enjoy this delicious, healthy, raw chocolate, with hardly any sugar and saturated fat and absolutely no dairy!

chocolate ball

4 thoughts on “Made my First Chocolate

  1. Your chocolate is excellent, I am sure it is very delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I should try it. I hope to come out like yours!
    Have a wonderful weekend, dear simplecherishes!
    Big hugs, Ştefania 🙂

Leave a Reply

