My New Favourite Summer Dish – Pumpkin Salad

I often head back to my home for lunch, as I live a couple of blocks away from work. Nice, isn’t it?  I have been searching for the healthiest and quickest ways of cooking lunch.  I came across this wonderful cookbook by Donna Kelly and Tegtmeier called Virgin Vegan Everyday Recipes for Satisfying Your Appetite.  There are no lack of Vegan cookbooks around, but something about their philosophies appeal to me very much.  They are not strict vegans, but like me, they like to experiment eating more and more vegan dishes, and so they prepare many colourful yet relatively easy dishes for the readers. The ingredients are often fresh (not faux meat), and the combinations innovative.

I get an inspiration from them on a curried pumpkin salad.

Ingredients:

Chopped pumpkin (doing this the night before would have been better :-))

Coconut oil

A few cloves of garlic, chopped

Millet

Indian curry powder

Leafy, green vegetables such as kale, bak choy

Your favourite fruits (dried cranberries, or strawberries, which I used here)

Vegetable broth from her recipe here (if rushed like me, just use water with some sea salt)

Pecans for toppings

Salt and pepper for taste

Method:

Saute the garlic in coconut oil, and then cook the pumpkin in hot water with some sea salt or broth until soft. While pumpkin is cooking, add in the millet and curry powder, and let the water be absorbed by the millet.  Stir in the vegetables last – about 3-4 minutes.  After the dish is done, sprinkle dried cranberries, or in my case, chopped strawberries, and the pecans.  Mix them well together.  I enjoyed a warm salad, but this would be fantastic when eaten cold; satisfying as its own meal too.

Time taken:

25 minutes (20 minutes had the pumpkin been cut already!)

pumpkin salad

2 thoughts on “My New Favourite Summer Dish – Pumpkin Salad

  1. Salad looks incredibly good! It is light and refreshing, and very tasty sure and confident I will cook too! Thank you very much for the recipe!
    I hope you have a wonderful day! Big hugs, much love, Stefania! 🙂

Leave a Reply

