Riding the Cable Car on a Friday Afternoon

I have been living in San Francisco for over 15 years, and today is only the second time I have ridden on the famous cable cars, which were first invented in San Francisco in the 1870’s by Andrew Smith Hallidie, originally from Britain.

Taking off earlier from work, I took advantage of a free cable car ride day and hopped onto a cable car on the California Street line to go to Nob Hill, one of the 47 named hills in San Francisco.

I particularly wanted to take some pictures at the top of the hill – looking down Taylor Street, I snapped the gorgeous colour of the sky and the hilly street in the background.

Taylor

And I took the picture of the Grace Cathedral, my most favorite Cathedral in San Francisco.

Grace cathedral

Little did I know, I ran into the San Francisco Cable Car Museum, located in the Washington & Mason cable car barn, and an actually operating powerhouse.  Underneath the museum is the system of “Sheaves” which are a series of pulleys, gears, motors, which powers the four cable loops, pulling cable cars around San Francisco.

cable car museum

The photo below shows the giant sheaves (pulleys) which are about 8.5 feet in diameter.

sheaves

According to the Cable Car Museum, “the cable car is pulled on rails by latching onto a moving cable inside a channel beneath the street. The cable is guided by an intricate system of pulleys and sheaves (large pulleys). At the powerhouse, huge winding wheels driven by 510 horsepower electric motors pull cable loops at a constant speed of 9.5 miles per hour.”

cable car underneath

Here is the first cable car in San Francisco – built in the 1870’s.

first cable car

And a current one…

cable car

I really recommend the ride and the visit to the Museum, when you visit San Francisco.

4 thoughts on “Riding the Cable Car on a Friday Afternoon

  1. Very very nice pictures!
    I am amazed how many beautiful places there are on earth!
    Images delighted me soul and I thank you with all my heart for sharing with us.
    I only have the chance to see America in the images and thank you so much for that offer this opportunity! Be blessed with beautiful life and happiness!
    Warm wishes for you ! With love, Stefania! 🙂

    1. Thanks for your lovely comments. It is nice that we can “visit” the places online through blogger friends. I have enjoyed meeting friends from Australia, Romania, Turkey, Spain, Italy, and many other countries. Wishing you a wonderful weekend! Warm wishes.

      1. Thank you so much! Yeah, I’m so glad I can visit places so beautiful online with friends from all over the world. I live in Romania! I am honored and glad that I met you!
        I will want a splendid weekend! Warm wishes for you! With much love, Stefania! 🙂

Leave a Reply

